Claremont Courier Logo
Claremont Courier Logo
Please make sure you are not using our custom header option and enabled theme builder setting. See here for more information:

Scripps College names 11th president

Amy Marcus-Newhall is Scripps College’s 11th president. Photo/courtesy of Scripps College

On April 6, Scripps College announced that acting president Amy Marcus-Newhall was given the permanent job as the institute’s 11th president following the mutual departure of 10th president Suzanne Keen after just eight months. Marcus-Newhall was appointed by a unanimous vote of the college’s board of trustees.

She previously served as interim president of the college for the 2015–2016 and 2021–2022 academic years.

“The two years I spent in the office of the president have been among the most gratifying in my career and I’m proud of what we achieved collectively in those years,” Marcus-Newhall said in a statement. “As president, I will build on those accomplishments to define a vision that reinforces Scripps’ core identity, cements its enduring purpose and strengthens its extraordinary community.”

Before being named the W. M. Keck Foundation Presidential Chair, Marcus-Newhall was the vice president for academic affairs and dean of faculty of Scripps for 12 years. Prior to that she was a faculty member in Scripps’ department of psychology for 18 years.

“We have the utmost confidence in her ability to propel the College’s ambitious vision for the future and cement its position as a world-class educational institution as Scripps approaches its centennial anniversary,” Board of Trustees Chair Laura Hockett said in a statement.

More info is at


Submit a Comment

Share This