HMC students earn astronaut scholarships

Harvey Mudd College students Ryan O’Hara and Lucien Tsai were recently named astronaut scholars by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. The pair were chosen among 68 undergraduate juniors and seniors from 46 universities and colleges around the nation based on “their exemplary academic performance, ingenuity and unique aptitude for research,” a news release read.

The scholarship can be worth up to $15,000 and includes benefits such as networking and mentoring opportunities with astronauts, alumni, and industry leaders; participation in the Michael Collins Family Professional Development Program; and a paid trip to ASF’s Innovators Week.

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation was established in 1984 and the scholarship has since become the nation’s largest merit-based monetary award given to science and engineering undergraduate students. For more information, visit


Submit a Comment

Share This