Webb students named merit scholarship semifinalists

The Webb Schools announced Monday that 10 seniors were named semifinalists in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Six students from Vivian Webb School — Aiperi Bush, Eleanor Hong, Emily Li, Zongying Li, Mirabel Raphael and Jiaqi Wang — as well as four from Webb School of California — Connor Keeney, Xiaojun Pan, Hanming Zeng and Zhehao Zhang — were among those listed.

As juniors, along with over 1.3 million others around the country, they took the initial screening test, the preliminary SAT, scoring in the 99th percentile. Now as seniors and nominated semifinalists, Webb’s 10 are among an exclusive group which represents less than one percent of all United States high school seniors.

“This prestigious achievement is one measure that reflects these students’ hard work and dedication to academic excellence,” Webb’s Director of Studies Peter Hatala wrote in a statement. “At Webb, we have the great honor of working with these students as they creatively and boldly apply this knowledge in and beyond the classroom.”

Winners will be announced in April 2024. For more information visit webb.org.


Submit a Comment

Share This